ZYN Ultra Is Now FDA Authorized: What Changed in 2026
FDA authorized 11 ZYN Ultra SKUs on August 21, 2026, but only one 11mg variant made the list. Here's what the decision means for consumers.
TL;DR
On August 21, 2026, FDA authorized 11 ZYN Ultra nicotine pouch products through the premarket tobacco product application (PMTA) pathway. Ten flavors received authorization at 9mg. Only one product—ZYN ULTRA Smooth 11 mg—received authorization at the higher 11mg strength. Because ZYN sells every Ultra flavor in both 9mg and 11mg retail variants, this decision creates a gap: some 11mg Ultra cans on shelves are not on FDA's authorized list.
In one sentence: FDA authorized 11 ZYN Ultra products on August 21, 2026, but only one 11mg variant (Smooth) made the list, leaving most 11mg retail SKUs without marketing authorization.
What FDA Authorized on August 21, 2026
According to FDA's tobacco product marketing orders, ZYN ULTRA Chill 9mg, ZYN ULTRA Citrus 9mg, ZYN ULTRA Cool Mint 9mg, ZYN ULTRA Deep Freeze 9mg, ZYN ULTRA Menthol 9mg, ZYN ULTRA Peppermint 9mg, ZYN ULTRA Smooth 9mg, ZYN ULTRA Spearmint 9mg, ZYN ULTRA Wintergreen 9mg, and ZYN ULTRA Wintergreen Chill 9mg all received authorization. ZYN ULTRA Smooth 11 mg is the only 11mg product on the authorized list.
Each authorized ZYN Ultra product contains 20 pouches per can. Swedish Match manufactures ZYN Ultra with a hydro-boosted comfort-fit pouch and built-in disposal lid. All ZYN Ultra products are tobacco-free and use pharmaceutical-grade nicotine.
| Brand | Flavor | Strength | Pouches/Can | FDA Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ZYN | Ultra Chill | 9mg | 20 | FDA Authorized (Aug 2026, PMTA) |
| ZYN | Ultra Citrus | 9mg | 20 | FDA Authorized (Aug 2026, PMTA) |
| ZYN | Ultra Cool Mint | 9mg | 20 | FDA Authorized (Aug 2026, PMTA) |
| ZYN | Ultra Deep Freeze | 9mg | 20 | FDA Authorized (Aug 2026, PMTA) |
| ZYN | Ultra Menthol | 9mg | 20 | FDA Authorized (Aug 2026, PMTA) |
| ZYN | Ultra Peppermint | 9mg | 20 | FDA Authorized (Aug 2026, PMTA) |
| ZYN | Ultra Smooth | 9mg | 20 | FDA Authorized (Aug 2026, PMTA) |
| ZYN | Ultra Spearmint | 9mg | 20 | FDA Authorized (Aug 2026, PMTA) |
| ZYN | Ultra Wintergreen | 9mg | 20 | FDA Authorized (Aug 2026, PMTA) |
| ZYN | Ultra Wintergreen Chill | 9mg | 20 | FDA Authorized (Aug 2026, PMTA) |
| ZYN | Ultra Smooth | 11mg | 20 | FDA Authorized (Aug 2026, PMTA) |
The 11mg Asymmetry: What It Means for Consumers
The August 2026 decision creates a regulatory mismatch. ZYN's retail lineup offers every Ultra flavor in both 9mg and 11mg. FDA's authorized list includes only one 11mg product. This means consumers who purchase ZYN ULTRA Cool Mint 11mg, ZYN ULTRA Wintergreen 11mg, or any other 11mg flavor except Smooth are buying products that lack FDA marketing authorization as of August 2026.
FDA authorization is not a safety certification. FDA's tobacco product review process evaluates whether a product is appropriate for the protection of public health based on the application data submitted. Unauthorized products may remain on the market while FDA completes its review or takes enforcement action.
For users 21 and older who prefer higher-strength pouches, the practical consequence is limited: ZYN ULTRA Smooth 11mg is the only authorized 11mg option. Users seeking 11mg variants in other flavors are choosing products outside FDA's authorized portfolio.
Retail Naming Versus FDA Listing
ZYN's retail packaging uses different names than FDA's authorized product list. Retail cans are labeled Citrus Zest, Arctic Mint, Signature Smooth, and similar branding. FDA's list uses flavor descriptors like Citrus, Cool Mint, and Smooth. Neither ZYN's website nor FDA's public records publish a one-to-one mapping between retail names and authorized product names.
This naming gap makes it difficult for consumers to confirm which retail SKU corresponds to which authorized product. Users who want to verify FDA authorization should look for the exact flavor name on FDA's list of authorized nicotine pouches and cross-reference the strength.
FDA's Nicotine Pouch Portfolio After August 2026
With the August 21, 2026 authorization, FDA now lists 43 authorized nicotine pouch products. The breakdown:
- 20 ZYN standard products (10 flavors at 3mg and 6mg, authorized January 2025)
- 11 ZYN Ultra products (10 flavors at 9mg, one flavor at 11mg, authorized August 2026)
- 6 on! PLUS products (Mint, Tobacco, and Wintergreen at 6mg and 9mg, authorized December 2025)
- 6 on! products (various flavors and strengths, authorized earlier)
Swedish Match, a subsidiary of Philip Morris International, now holds 31 of the 43 authorized nicotine pouch products. Helix Innovations, a subsidiary of Altria, holds the remaining 12.
No other nicotine pouch brand—including VELO, Rogue, Lucy, or FRE—has received FDA authorization as of September 2026. Those brands have submitted PMTAs but remain under FDA review.
What Happens to Unauthorized 11mg Ultra Products
Products that lack FDA marketing authorization may remain on retail shelves. FDA has discretion over enforcement. Manufacturers may continue to sell products with pending PMTAs unless FDA issues a marketing denial order or takes enforcement action.
Swedish Match submitted PMTAs for all ZYN Ultra products. FDA authorized 11 of those applications on August 21, 2026. The status of the other 11mg applications—whether they are still under review, denied, or withdrawn—is not publicly disclosed.
For context, FDA authorized ZYN's standard 3mg and 6mg products in January 2025. The August 2026 Ultra decision came 19 months later. The timeline for any remaining ZYN Ultra applications is uncertain.
Industry Implications
The asymmetry in FDA's August 2026 decision is unusual. Typically, when FDA authorizes a product line, the pattern is consistent across strengths. The ZYN standard authorization covered all 10 flavors at both 3mg and 6mg. The Ultra decision covered all 10 flavors at 9mg but only one flavor at 11mg.
This selective authorization may reflect differences in the application data Swedish Match submitted for each strength. FDA evaluates each PMTA individually. Two products with the same flavor and different strengths are separate applications with separate data packages.
For competing brands, the August 2026 decision widens the gap. ZYN now holds 31 authorized products. VELO, Rogue, Lucy, and FRE have zero. Users 21 and older who prioritize FDA authorization have a limited set of options. Retailers who stock only authorized products are effectively limited to ZYN and on! brands.
What to Watch in Late 2026
Swedish Match has not publicly stated whether it will resubmit PMTAs for the unauthorized 11mg Ultra flavors or discontinue those SKUs. The company also has not published guidance for retailers on how to handle unauthorized 11mg inventory.
FDA's PMTA tracker and ZYN brand page will be updated as new decisions are published. Users seeking the latest FDA authorization status should check those resources.
For adult nicotine pouch users 21 and older, the practical takeaway is narrow. If you prefer ZYN Ultra at 11mg, Smooth is the only FDA-authorized option as of August 2026. If you prefer any other Ultra flavor at 11mg, you are using a product that lacks FDA marketing authorization.
Key Takeaways
- FDA authorized 11 ZYN Ultra products on August 21, 2026.
- Ten flavors are authorized at 9mg. One flavor (Smooth) is authorized at 11mg.
- ZYN sells every Ultra flavor in both 9mg and 11mg at retail. Most 11mg SKUs are not authorized.
- FDA now lists 43 authorized nicotine pouch products. ZYN holds 31 of them.
- Retail names do not match FDA's authorized product names. Verification requires cross-referencing FDA's list.
- Products without FDA authorization may remain on shelves while applications are under review.